Off-Campus Access

Off-campus Access to Library Databases is available from the library database page using your WIT Network Login.

[top]

This short video presentation shows how to access library database off-campus using your WIT Network Login.

For best view, click the fullscreen option.

[top]

Download File Icon ImageQuick Guide to Off-Campus Access [Size: 487Kb]
A handy quick guide explaing how to access the databases off-campus using your WIT Network Login

[top]

FAQs on Accessing Library Databases Off-Campus

Can I access the library databases off-campus?

Yes. Off-campus access to the library databases is available from the Library Database page (http://library.wit.ie/LibraryServices/GoingOnline/Databases/). Choose the link for the database you require under Off-Campus Access on the right hand side. When prompted, enter  your WIT network login details.

What is my WIT Network Login?

Your WIT Network login is the same username and password that you use to login to WIT computers and access Moodle. It is provided by WIT Computer Services.

For students your login will be your 8 digit student number, followed by your password. For Staff, your login will be your Novell username, followed by your password.

How can I get my WIT Network Login?

Your WIT Network login is provided to you by WIT Computer Services after you have fully registered. If you have not fully registered, and do not have your WIT Network Login, you will not be able to access the Library Databases off-campus.

Can I access the library databases using Athens?

Athens access to databases off-campus will be available until early September 2011. Existing Athens users can continue to access databases off-campus through https://auth.athensams.net/my/. There are no new Athens accounts being set-up from January 2011 onwards. Users with no Athens account should access the library databases from the Library Database page using their WIT Network Login.

What happens my Athens account in September 2011?

From September 2011, all Athens accounts will expire. At this time, it is intended to discontinue Athens support. From September 2011, access to databases off-campus will be provided solely using your WIT Network Login.

Why is support for Athens being discontinued?

WIT Libraries have committed themselves to providing off-campus access to as many library databases as possible, in the most efficient and user-friendly manner possible. As the demand for off-campus access to our resources grows, off-campus access through Athens is becoming less efficient, for both the library, and our users. By allowing the user to access the same resources using their single WIT network login, it greatly improves the access to the resources for the user. The new procedure requires no additional yearly registration as is required with the current Athens procedure.

How will access to full-text articles be affected?

Accessing library databases using your WIT network login provides access to the same full-text articles and documents that are available both on-campus, and through Athens. We have lost no access rights as a result of this switch. In fact, this new procedure grants access to more databases that were unavailable through Athens (like IEEE Digital Library, for example).

I can’t access the databases off-campus, my WIT Network login won’t work.

Your WIT Network login is the same username and password you use to access Moodle and login to the PCs on-campus. It is administered by WIT Computer Services. If you have problems with your username and password, please contact Computer Services Directly: http://www.wit.ie/SchoolsDepartments/SupportAdministration/ComputerServices/

I can access the databases off-campus, but I can’t access the full-text of a journal. Who should I contact?

By using your WIT network login, you have access to the same full-text articles as if you were working on-campus. If you have a query regarding accessing an article in full-text, please call the Information Desk in the Luke Wadding library, contact libinfo@wit.ie, or by telephone at 051-302840.

Are there any changes to accessing databases while on-campus?

No, access to library databases on-campus is unchanged. Access to databases on-campus is available from the library database page and by choosing the appropriate link on the left-hand side of the page. For most databases, there is no username and password needed to search databases on-campus.

I’m having trouble searching the library databases off-campus. Who can I talk to?

If you experience any other problems accessing or searching library databases while off-campus, please contact the Library Information Desk in the Luke Wadding Library in-person, or via libinfo@wit.ie or by telephone 051-302840.

[top]

^