Databases

WIT Libraries subscribes to a growing number of online databases. These databases contain a large number of journal titles and journal articles, and are the ideal research tools for assignments and research projects.


Remember:  when you’re researching oncampus, you won’t need a username and password to access each individual database.

 

ABI Inform
Business, management, tourism and multisubject.
Academic Search Complete
Education, social sciences, health sciences and multisubject.
ACM Digital Library
Includes the Guide to computer literature. Computer sciences and information technology.

Artfilms
Masterclasses, documentaries, interviews, content that can entertain, educate and inform: Artfilms streams thousands of videos from top artists and producers.

To access the resource just insert your 8-digit student number starting 20* or 19*.

Access to Freely Available British and Irish Public Legal Information

Not available through Multisearch

BASE Digital Collections
BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library. BASE provides more than 120 million documents from more than 6,000 sources. About 60% of these resources are open access.

Use as an alternative to Multisearch
Business Source Complete
Multisubject. Business and management.
CINAHL
Nursing and health sciences.

CIPD
Human resources, management. Password required, available from Information Desk. (STAFF ONLY)
This resource works best in Internet Explorer, Edge, or Chrome browsers.

Not available through Multisearch
The Cochrane Library
Health sciences – systematic reviews.
Construction Information Service
Construction, engineering and architecture.
DART-Europe E-Theses Portal
Access to 614408 open access research theses from 583 Universities in 28 European countries.
Past WIT Theses
Available on the WIT Library Catalogue
DOAJ – Directory of Open Access Journals
Multisubject. Open access scholarly journals. Available on and off-campus
EBSCOhost – (eBook Collection)
2655 eBook titles hosted on EBSCOhost. Available on and off-campus
Ebook Central
Over 183,000 eBooks in all subject areas. Available on and off-campus
Emerald Insight
Business, management, tourism and hospitality.
EndNote Online
Available to all students : Free reference management tool. Available on and off-campus. See EndNote Library Guide .
Entrepreneurship
Entrepreneurship, business and management.
ERIC
Education.
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service)
Search over 400,000 doctoral theses.
Health and Safety Information Service
Occupational health and safety.
i2i National Standards Authority of Ireland
NSAI (National Standards Authority of Ireland) is Ireland’s official standards body.
IEEE Xplore
Access journals, conference proceedings and IEEE standards in electrical and electronic engineering and computer science from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
Journal of Research in International Education
The Journal of Research in International Education is an international, peer-reviewed journal in international education for schools, examiners and higher education institutions throughout the world.
JSTOR
Multisubject. Arts and humanities, languages, architecture, life sciences.
JustisOne
Online library of UK, Irish, EU and international case law and legislation.
Choose ‘institutional login’
LISTA
Library and information science.

Murdoch’s Irish Legal Companion
Law.

Not available through Multisearch
OVID SP
Nursing and health sciences.
Oxford Music Online For Off-Campus Access Click here
Music. Help with logging in
PsycARTICLES
Psychology, health sciences.
PsycINFO
Psychology, health sciences.
PsycTESTS
Psychology, health sciences.
PubMed
Health sciences. Available on and off-campus
RCNi
Key Nursing Journals. Full text access for the period 01/11/2017 – 31/12/2021
Research Professional
A portal for researchers to search for and find currently open funding calls all over the world. Off and on-campus log-in. To register, use your @wit.ie address.
RIAN
RIAN portal harvests the contents of the Institutional Repositories of the seven Irish university libraries.
Science Direct
Physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, humanities and social sciences.
Scopus
Scopus is Elsevier’s abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.

SMI Music Theses Register
Music. Available on and off-campus

Not available through Multisearch
Thomson One (Formerly OneBanker)
Finance. On-campus access only.
Note: Access using Internet Explorer web browser

University Industry Innovation Network

University Industry Innovation Network (UIIN) is committed to enhancing employability and driving innovation through university-industry engagement. We are a knowledge leader on university-industry interaction, entrepreneurial universities and are dedicated to the future of higher education institutions and their impact on society.

Web of Science
Humanities, science and social sciences.

Westlaw IE
Legal studies, law.

Following recent changes in off campus authentication for accessing Westlaw IE, in addition to your normal login you may be asked to provide your name and email when logging into Westlaw IE for the first time. This request is to provide you with a personalized experience on Westlaw Ireland. If you prefer, you can instead enter text, which does not identify you for First name, Last name, Email and press continue.
Westlaw UK
Legal studies, law.
Wiley Online Library
Multisubject, health sciences, education, law, humanities.
WIT Repository
Open access publications from WIT.

For further information please contact [email protected]

051 302823

Navigate to information pages within the website. To search for resources, please use the search bar on the home page.